Comment

Analysis and comment on current developments by the Centre's staff, supporters and associates


Friday, 25 November, 2016

Opening remarks by Richard Garside at the 'Holloway prison closure: What next for the land?' event in Islington, North London on Friday, 25 November 2016

Thursday, 24 November, 2016

The endless calls for tough community sentences do more harm than good, argues Richard Garside

Wednesday, 16 November, 2016

Kahra Wayland-Larty reports on the European Detention and Custody Summit

Tuesday, 15 November, 2016

Ross Fergusson considers the stark choices that the policy swings of successive governments now present too many 16-17-year-olds

Friday, 11 November, 2016

The needs of the local community, not commercial developers, should be at the heart of plans to redevelop the Holloway prison site, Will McMahon argues

Thursday, 10 November, 2016

It is not prison that we should be seeking to legitimise but social inclusion and solutions to the causes of social problems, J M Moore argues in response to a recent report by the RSA

Tuesday, 08 November, 2016

A safe injection facility in Glasgow is only the first step in a necessary shift from law enforcement to health-based drug approaches, Kenny MacAskill argues

Wednesday, 02 November, 2016

Mike Guilfoyle remembers Ramon who was the victim of an unforgiving decision

Thursday, 27 October, 2016

Far from trying to rescue the struggling privatised probation companies, the government should let them fail, Richard Garside argues

Tuesday, 18 October, 2016

Will McMahon says that the government's claims that the programme is a success require close scrutiny

Pages