Comment

Analysis and comment on current developments by the Centre's staff, supporters and associates


Monday, 19 December, 2016

Roger Grimshaw writes about the work of the National Preventive Mechanism in preventing torture and mistreatment in custody

Friday, 16 December, 2016

Paul Bebbington writes on new research that finds mental health problems in prison are high, and getting worse

Wednesday, 14 December, 2016

The prison service in Scotland is having to confront the challenge of an ageing prison population, Kenny MacAskill writes. It is not alone

Monday, 05 December, 2016

This month Mike Guilfoyle reflects on Erwin who served time in prison

Friday, 02 December, 2016

Joe Sim writes on the grim legacy likely to be left by the recent White Paper on prison reform

Thursday, 01 December, 2016

Will McMahon reports on the first community meeting organised by the Centre as part of the 'Justice Matters: a community plan for Holloway' initiative

Friday, 25 November, 2016

Opening remarks by Richard Garside at the 'Holloway prison closure: What next for the land?' event in Islington, North London on Friday, 25 November 2016

Thursday, 24 November, 2016

The endless calls for tough community sentences do more harm than good, argues Richard Garside

Wednesday, 16 November, 2016

Kahra Wayland-Larty reports on the European Detention and Custody Summit

Tuesday, 15 November, 2016

Ross Fergusson considers the stark choices that the policy swings of successive governments now present too many 16-17-year-olds

Pages