Comment

Analysis and comment on current developments by the Centre's staff, supporters and associates


Tuesday, 25 July, 2017

The prospect of a former president of Brazil facing a long prison sentence highlights the discrepancy in access to justice between privileged and ordinary Brazilians, writes Omar Phoenix Khan

Thursday, 13 July, 2017

Speech given to the Youth crime and public policy interventions conference, University of Surrey, Friday, 4 July 2017

Wednesday, 12 July, 2017

Sharon Walker assesse the expansion of the executive within the criminal justice system in the Republic of Ireland, and the impact on punishment decisions

Wednesday, 05 July, 2017

The law rarely holds powerful individuals to account. The Grenfell disaster is unlikely to be different, argue Steve Tombs and David Whyte

Monday, 03 July, 2017

This month, Mike Guilfoyle remembers 'Roland'.

Tuesday, 13 June, 2017

Islington councillor Diarmaid Ward calls on the Ministry of Justice to release empty flats at HMP Pentonville to provide much needed homes

Wednesday, 07 June, 2017

Mike Guilfoyle reflects on his time supervising 'Lindsay' who had a personality disorder

Tuesday, 30 May, 2017

Something needs to be done quickly to deal with the mess created by restrictions on police bail, argues Ed Cape

Wednesday, 24 May, 2017

Vickie Cooper and David Whyte argue most people still don't understand the true scale of the human cost that austerity has unleashed

Wednesday, 17 May, 2017

Glyn Robbins calls for prison land in London to remain in public ownership and redeveloped into genuinely affordable homes

Pages