Comment

Analysis and comment on current developments by the Centre's staff, supporters and associates


Wednesday, 03 May, 2017

Will McMahon calls for investment in social work and mental health services rather than the police

Tuesday, 02 May, 2017

In his latest reflection, Mike Guilfoyle recalls Eithne and the need for a protective sentence in court

Friday, 28 April, 2017

The redevelopment of the former Holloway prison site is an opportunity to invest in the future of Islington, argues Matt Ford

Friday, 07 April, 2017

Mike Guilfoyle reflects on his time with 'Paterson'

Thursday, 06 April, 2017

David Scott reports that local opponents of a new mega-prison are joining a growing campaign against the government’s prison building plans

Monday, 03 April, 2017

The Prisons and Courts Bill threatens to create more pressure on people to plead guilty, whether they are or not, argues Penelope Gibbs

Thursday, 30 March, 2017

The undercover policing of political protest groups and social movements has generated urgent questions. But thus far few answers, argues Helen Mills

Friday, 24 March, 2017

We need innovative design and the end of prison as we know it, argues Richard Rowley

Thursday, 16 March, 2017

These are the opening remarks our Director, Richard Garside, gave to the British Society of Criminology South Branch meeting on Wednesday, 15 March at the London School of Economics

Wednesday, 15 March, 2017

Maureen Mansfield writes about a new campaign for a women's building on the Holloway prison site

Pages