Comment

Analysis and comment on current developments by the Centre's staff, supporters and associates


Monday, 10 June, 2019

Gavin Wilkinson on how the economic turmoil in 1970s Britain contributed to pushing people into the criminal justice system and mental health services

Monday, 03 June, 2019

Mike Guilfoyle recalls his supervision of 'Mason'

Thursday, 30 May, 2019

Roger Grimshaw examines the government consultation on a public health duty to address serious violence

Tuesday, 14 May, 2019

Roger Grimshaw comments on the latest briefing from the College of Policing

Wednesday, 08 May, 2019

The state exemplifies the failure to understand how structural, cultural, institutional and personal forms of racism and discrimination intersect and manifest in black people’s experience of everyday life, says Professor Gus John on the aftermath of the Macpherson Inquiry

 

Monday, 06 May, 2019

This month Mike Guilfoyle offers a glimpse of how probation officers, in practice, supervise and help to rehabilitate those convicted of sex offences

Thursday, 25 April, 2019

The unthinking acceptance of prisons as inevitable social institutions is preventing us from thinking beyond them, argues Richard Garside

Thursday, 18 April, 2019

Co-editor of the latest edition of the Prison Service Journal, Charlotte Weinberg, introduces the rationale behind the journal's theme of prisons in crisis 

Wednesday, 03 April, 2019

Laura Cooper on a new report highlighting disturbing trends around disproportionality in the youth justice system

Monday, 01 April, 2019

Mike Guilfoyle remembers working with Paola

Pages